Skip to main content

2012 Champions for Change

Champions for Change are individuals working with Models for Change in their states who have positively affected the lives of justice-involved youth, their families, and communities in ways that provide pathways away from delinquencyand re-offending, and that increase their potential to lead successful lives and build positive relationships.

Each of the 2012 Champions for Change has distinguished themself not only by a longtime commitment to creating change on behalf of youth, but because of their innovative and creative use of resources provided by Models for Change. These resources were adapted to local conditions and used to extend available capabilities to achieve deeper insights, more evidence-based practices and policies better suited to the needs of justice-involved youth.

Sharon Guy Hornsby

2012 Louisiana Models for Change Champion for Change
Dean, Northshore Technical Community College, Florida Parishes Campus

Lisa M. Garry

2012 DMC Action Network Champion for Change
DMC Director, Maryland Department of Juvenile Services

Laura Cohen

2012 JIDAN Action Network Champion for Change
Clinical Professor of Law and Co-Director Eric R. Neisser Public Interest Program, Rutgers School of Law-Newark

George D. Mosee, Jr.

2012 Pennsylvania Models for Change Champion for Change
Deputy District Attorney, Philadelphia District Attorney's Office, Juvenile Division

Gene Griffin

2012 Mental Health Juvenile Justice Network Champion for Change
Assistant Professor in Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

Arthur D. Bishop

2012 Illinois Models for Change Champion for Change
Director, Illinois Department of Juvenile Justice

Supported by

Models for Change is supported by the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation, website operated by Justice Policy Institute.